top of page

Edward Hopper

Cape Cod Morning

1950

Stimulate the imagination

Edward Hopper's works generally feature American middle-class characters, urban or rural, engaged in daily chores or immersed in contemplative reflection. In Cape Cod Morning , a woman leans out the window of her house, visibly puzzled by what is happening outside her home.

 

As often with Hopper, this painting draws its strength not from what it shows, but from what it does not show. Indeed, this woman seems absorbed by a spectacle which is not visible to us. A doe looking

edge of the forest? A stranger approaching? A start of fire? Children playing? No clue… The focal point of the scene is off-screen, and what we are given to see is only the effect it has on this woman. That's where Hopper's talent lies: he tells us, through his characters, how interesting what's going on is… but he leaves us free to imagine what it's all about. It is therefore up to us to complete the scene according to our sensitivity: as soon as our eyes land on the work, we are invited to appropriate it. And it's hard to resist.

What we can take away:

To present an idea, we often seek to argue in as much detail as possible. However, maintaining a part of indeterminacy encourages our interlocutors to complete our remarks themselves, and thus to appropriate the idea put forward. Stimulating the imagination is already provoking adhesion.

Related topic: Communication
Search by artist
bottom of page

Edward Hopper

Cape Cod Morning

1950

Stimuler l'imagination

Les œuvres d’Edward Hopper mettent généralement en scène des personnages de la classe moyenne américaine, urbaine ou rurale, livrés à une tâche quotidienne ou plongés dans une réflexion contemplative. Dans Cape Cod Morning, une femme se penche à la fenêtre de sa maison, visiblement intriguée par ce qui se déroule devant chez elle.

 

Comme souvent chez Hopper, ce tableau tire sa force non pas de ce qu’il montre, mais de ce qu’il ne montre pas. En effet, cette femme semble absorbée par un spectacle qui n’est pas visible de nous. Une biche à la

lisière de la forêt? Un inconnu qui s’approche? Un début d’incendie? Des enfants qui jouent? Aucun indice… Le point d’intérêt de la scène est hors champ, et ce qui nous est donné à voir n’est que l’effet qu’il produit sur cette femme. C’est là que réside le talent de Hopper: il nous dit, par le truchement de ses personnages, à quel point ce qui se passe est intéressant… mais il nous laisse libres d’imaginer ce dont il s’agit. C’est donc à nous de compléter la scène en fonction de notre sensibilité: dès que nos yeux se posent sur l’œuvre, nous sommes invités à nous l’approprier. Et il est difficile de résister.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Pour présenter une idée, nous cherchons souvent à argumenter de façon la plus détaillée possible. Pourtant, entretenir une part d’indétermination incite nos interlocuteurs à compléter eux-mêmes notre propos, et ainsi à s’approprier l’idée avancée. Stimuler l’imagination, c’est déjà provoquer l’adhésion.