top of page

Nicholas Poussin

Rapture of the Sabines

1637

Speak to be understood

A French painter who spent most of his career in Italy, Nicolas Poussin is considered one of the masters of classical art of the 17th century, but also one of the most learned artists of his time. His rigorous compositions and his intellectual approach to painting have earned him the reputation of "painter- philosopher", for whom every detail is the fruit of deep reflection. His Abduction of the Sabines , which reflects his interest in Roman legends – his main source of inspiration – also illustrates the intelligence with which his works were conceived.

This painting evokes one of the episodes of the birth of Rome  : the companions of Romulus needing wives to found families and populate their city, they take advantage of a festival to kidnap the women of the neighboring population, the Sabines. Poussin brilliantly describes the violence of the maneuver  and the amazement of the characters in disarray. But what appears to us as generalized chaos actually obeys a 

composition carefully elaborated by the painter, and inspired by the way our eye explores a painting. Poussin knew that we discover a canvas as we read a text: that is to say, at least in the West, from left to right and from top to bottom. In front of this canvas, we therefore begin by looking at the man draped in red in the upper left corner: Romulus raising his hand to indicate to his people - time n°1 - that it is time to take action. Then our gaze follows the diagonal of the image to land on the group in the foreground in the opposite corner: a Roman soldier grabbing a Sabina while a man flees. This is time n°2, that of aggression. Finally, our eyes shift to the left to discover the other figures in the foreground: a Roman carrying a woman and about to carry her out of frame. Time n°3: that of the abduction strictly speaking. In other words, Poussin designed his painting by thinking above all about how we would discover it, in order to increase its narrative dimension.

What we can take away:

The purpose of communication lies not in sending a message, but in receiving it and  his understanding. So rather than trying to show that we know things, let's sincerely try to  make us understand. It is a question of taking into account our interlocutor, the state of his knowledge and the conditions under which the message will be transmitted, to give our words the appropriate form.

Related topic: Communication
Search by artist
bottom of page

Nicolas Poussin

l'Enlèvement des Sabines

1637

Parler pour être compris

Peintre français ayant fait l’essentiel de sa carrière en Italie, Nicolas Poussin est considéré comme l’un des maîtres de l’art classique du XVIIème siècle, mais aussi comme l’un des artistes les plus savants de son temps. Ses compositions rigoureuses et son approche intellec-tuelle de la peinture lui ont valu la réputation de "peintre-philosophe", chez qui chaque détail est le fruit d’une réflexion profonde. Son Enlèvement des Sabines, qui rend compte de son intérêt pour les légendes romaines – sa principale source d’inspiration –, illustre aussi l’intelligence avec lesquels ses œuvres étaient conçues.

Cette toile évoque l’un des épisodes de la naissance de Rome : les compagnons de Romulus ayant besoin d’épouses pour fonder des familles et peupler leur cité, ils profitent d’une fête pour kidnapper les femmes de la population voisine, les Sabins. Poussin décrit brillam-ment la violence de la manoeuvre et la stupeur des personnages en déroute. Mais ce qui nous apparaît comme un chaos généralisé obéit en réalité à une 

composition soigneusement élaborée par le peintre, et inspirée par la manière dont notre oeil explore un tableau. Poussin savait que nous découvrons une toile comme nous lisons un texte: c'est-à-dire, du moins en Occident, de gauche à droite et de haut en bas. Devant cette toile, nous commençons donc par regarder l'homme drapé de rouge dans le coin supérieur gauche: Romulus levant la main pour indiquer aux siens - temps n°1 - que c'est le moment de passer à l'action. Puis notre regard suit la diagonale de l'image pour se poser sur le groupe au premier plan dans l'angle opposé: un soldat romain aggripant une Sabine pendant qu'un homme prend la fuite. C'est le temps n°2, celui de l'aggression. Enfin, nos yeux se déportent vers la gauche pour découvrir les autres personnages du premier plan: un Romain portant une femme et sur le point de l'emme-ner hors du cadre. Temps n°3: celui de l'enlèvement à proprement parler. Autrement dit, Poussin a conçu son tableau en pensant avant tout à la manière dont nous le découvririons, afin d'en accroître la dimension narrative.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

La finalité de la communication réside non pas dans l'émission d'un message, mais bien dans sa réception et sa compréhension. Alors plutôt que de chercher à montrer que nous savons des choses, essayons sincèrement de nous faire comprendre. Il s'agit de prendre en compte notre interlocuteur, l'état de ses connaissances et les conditions dans lesquelles le message sera transmis, pour donner à nos propos la forme adéquate.