top of page

Jackson Pollock

Wall

1943

Take up the challenges

In 1943, Jackson Pollock was an artist with promising talent but very moderate success. If his work is praised by some connoisseurs, Pollock is meanwhile devastated by the awareness of his own limits. His painting is then not yet that of dripping , a technique by which later he will squirt paint on a canvas stretched out on the ground. For the time being, he is rather following in Picasso's footsteps, drawing inspiration from the master without being able to match him.

 

That year, the billionaire Peggy Guggenheim commissioned an extraordinary work from him: a canvas of over

6 meters long. Pollock never painted on such a format. Yet he takes up the challenge, installs the canvas in his apartment, and spends several months not knowing where to start. Two days before the deadline, he finally got started: in one night, he produced a founding work. Not knowing how to arrange shapes on such a surface, he painted Mural , a picture with no background or pattern. Each part of the canvas, from the center to the corners, contains the same semantic charge. This practice, dubbed by critics “  all-over  “, will be at the heart of the dripping which will, shortly after, the triumph of Pollock.

What we can take away:

Faced with a request that does not seem to be within our limits, our reflex is often that of being cautious. However, it is in these conditions of discomfort that the most audacious ideas can be born. We would therefore like to thank our most demanding customers and interlocutors: they are the ones who make us progress.

Related theme: Creativity
Related topic: Method
Search by artist
bottom of page

Jackson Pollock

Mural

1943

Relever les challenges

En 1943, Jackson Pollock est un artiste au talent prometteur mais au succès très modéré. Si son travail est salué par quelques connaisseurs, Pollock est quant à lui ravagé par la conscience de ses propres limites. Sa peinture n’est alors pas encore celle du dripping, technique par laquelle plus tard il fera gicler de la peinture sur une toile étendue au sol. Pour l’heure, il marche plutôt dans les pas de Picasso, s’inspirant du maître sans pouvoir l’égaler.

 

Cette année-là, la milliardaire Peggy Guggenheim lui commande une œuvre hors norme: une toile de plus de

6 mètres de long. Pollock n’a jamais peint sur un tel format. Pourtant il relève le défi, installe la toile dans son appartement, et passe plusieurs mois sans savoir par où commencer. Deux jours avant la date buttoir, il se lance enfin: en une nuit, il réalise une œuvre fondatrice. Ne sachant comment disposer des formes sur une telle surface, il a peint Mural, une image ne présentant ni fond ni motifs. Chaque partie de la toile, du centre aux angles, contient la même charge sémantique. Cette pratique, baptisée par les critiques « all over », sera au cœur du dripping qui fera, peu après, le triomphe de Pollock.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Face à une demande qui ne nous semble pas dans nos cordes, notre réflexe est souvent celui de la frilosité. Pourtant, c’est dans ces conditions d’inconfort que les idées les plus audacieuses peuvent naître. Remercions donc nos clients et interlocuteurs les plus exigeants: ce sont eux qui nous font progresser.