top of page

Max Ernst

Europe after the rain II

1940-42

Use our tools differently

This work by the German painter Max Ernst was begun in occupied France in 1940, and completed in the United States in 1942, after the artist's exile. Its title, Europe after the rain II , leaves no doubt as to its interpretation: it is a dismal vision of a territory in ruins, devastated by war. Note that Ernst had already used this title for a work from 1933, after Hitler came to power in Germany.

Ernst, a member of the Dada movement and then of the surrealist group, cultivated like his comrades a taste for the irrational which he had made a source of inspiration.

But one of his most significant contributions to painting lies in his constant search for new

ways to affix  color on a surface. In Europe after the rain II , for example, he proceeded by decalcomania , that is to say by pressing  a paper on its canvas coated with paint, then in it  removing to create a texture that is impossible to achieve with a brush. He also practiced the technique of  frottage - pass  a charcoal on a sheet laid out on a wooden surface  relief like a parquet board - or even that of the  scraping - scraping off superimposed layers of paint with a razor blade. By using in such a way  unorthodox of utensils yet familiar to artists, Ernst invented techniques which, although experimental, enabled him to create totally original works.

What we can take away:

Creativity requires  obviously, in the first place, an intellectual effort  - of the order of the imagination. But it can also go through work on the technique used. Finding new ways to use our equipment, different from its traditional use, allows  often generate results  interesting.

Related theme: Creativity
Search by artist
bottom of page

Max Ernst

l'Europe après la pluie II

1940-42

Utiliser nos outils différamment

Cette oeuvre du peintre allemand Max Ernst a été débutée dans la France occupée de 1940, et achevée aux Etats-Unis en 1942, après l'exil de l'artiste. Son titre, l'Europe après la pluie II, ne laisse aucun doute quant à son interprétation: il s'agit d'une vision funeste d'un ter-ritoire en ruines, dévasté par la guerre. A noter qu'Ernst avait déjà utilisé ce titre pour une oeuvre de 1933, après l'accession au pouvoir d'Hitler en Allemagne.

Ernst, membre du mouvement Dada puis du groupe surréaliste, cultivait comme ses camarades le goût de l'irrationnel dont il avait fait une source d'inspiration.

Mais l'un de ses apports les plus significatifs à la pein-ture réside dans sa recherche permanente de nouvelles

manières d'aposer de la couleur sur une surface. Dans l'Europe après la pluie II par exemple, il a procédé par décalcomanie, c'est-à-dire en pressant un papier sur sa toile enduite de peinture, puis en le retirant pour créer une texture impossible à obtenir au pinceau. Il a aussi pratiqué la technique du frottage - passer un fusain sur une feuille disposée sur une surface en relief comme une planche de parquet - ou encore celle du grattage - gratter avec une lame de rasoir des couches de peinture superposées. En utilisant de manière non orthodoxe des ustensiles pourtant familiers aux artistes, Ernst a inventé des techniques qui, bien qu'expérimen-tales, lui ont permis de créer des oeuvres totalement originales.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

La créativité recquiert évidemment, en premier lieu, un effort intellectuel - de l'ordre de l'imagination. Mais elle peut aussi passer par un travail sur la technique employée. Trouver de nouvelles manières d'utiliser notre matériel, différentes de son usage traditionnel, permet souvent de générer des résultats intéressants.