top of page

Gustave Courbet

The Wounded Man

Between 1844 and 1854

Transform rather than liquidate

Paul Gauguin

L'Arlesienne , 1889

This Wounded Man by Gustave Courbet, like a heartbroken duelist, lies at the foot of a tree as if waiting for death. In any case, this is the interpretation suggested by the sword leaning against the trunk, whose shiny pommel catches our eye. However, modern radiography techniques have made it possible to trace the genesis of this painting, and to illuminate this image in a new light.

 

Indeed, the X-rays revealed three different versions of the painting, the first two being concealed under the final coat of paint. The first consisted of a simple portrait by Courbet of his mistress Virginie Binet. In the second, the painter had added a

What we can take away:

Our projects are born, live – more or less long – and die when we believe that the evolution of the context has made them obsolete. We then abandon them and forget them in the archives of our memory. But rather than burying these ideas, it is sometimes possible to make them evolve, to adjust them over time and the changes that are necessary, to capitalize on past achievements while integrating the need for renewal.

self-portrait, representing himself dozing next to the young woman in a lovers' siesta. Finally, ten years later, when

his beloved left him-

he erased his image

of the painting, reposition-

born the body of man-

me, added the sword and

painted a stain of

blood at the site

from the heart. Thereby  does he have

represented symboli-

only  his pain

abandoned lover.

Related topic: Method
Search by artist
bottom of page

Gustave Courbet

L'Homme blessé

Entre 1844 et 1854

Transformer plutôt que liquider

Paul Gauguin

l'Arlésienne, 1889

Cet Homme blessé de Gustave Courbet, tel un duelliste touché au cœur, repose au pied d’un arbre en semblant attendre la mort. C’est en tout cas l’interprétation que suggère l’épée appuyée contre le tronc, dont le pommeau luisant attire notre regard. Pourtant, les techniques de radiographie modernes ont permis de retracer la genèse de ce tableau, et d’éclairer cette image sous un jour nouveau.

 

En effet, les rayons X ont révélé trois versions différentes du tableau, les deux premières étant dissimulées sous l’ultime couche de peinture. La première consistait en un simple portrait par Courbet de sa maîtresse Virginie Binet. Dans la seconde, le peintre avait ajouté un

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Nos projets naissent, vivent – plus ou moins longtemps –, et meurent quand nous estimons que l’évolution du contexte les a rendus obsolètes. Nous les délaissons alors et les oublions dans les archives de notre mémoire. Mais plutôt que d’enterrer ces idées, il est parfois possible de les faire évoluer, de les aménager au fil du temps et des changements qui s’imposent, pour capitaliser sur les acquis passés tout en intégrant la nécessité de renouveau.

autoportrait, se représentant lui-même assoupi à côté de la jeune femme dans une sieste d’amoureux. Enfin, dix ans après, quand

sa bien-aimée l’a quit-

té, il a effacé son image

du tableau, reposition-

né le corps de l’hom-

me, ajouté l’épée et

peint une tache de

sang à l’emplacement

du cœur. Ainsi a-t-il

représenté symboli-

quement sa douleur

d’amoureux délaissé.