top of page

Paul Klee

Lantern Festival / Bauhaus

1922

Organize the informal

In 1920, the German painter Paul Klee joined the teaching team of the Bauhaus, a school of arts and crafts newly founded by the architect Walter Gropius. Alongside other renowned artists such as Wassily Kandinsky or Josef Albers, Klee puts himself at the service of the philosophy of this very serious institute, which has the lofty ambition of breaking down the barriers between art and craftsmanship to set the basics of modern design.

This work from 1922 illustrates one of the priority pedagogical axes – although unexpected –  of the Bauhaus. This is a postcard for

promote one of the many parties organized by the school. This type of event, set up as a fundamental educational lever, allowed all those involved in the life of the Bauhaus – teachers, artists, craftsmen, students – to meet in a friendly and authentic atmosphere, giving pride of place to the human dimension of the collective. Because Gropius, Klee and their colleagues had understood that any professional relationship being above all a human relationship, these informal times – with the pleasure and the exchanges they generated – conditioned the quality of collective work.

What we can take away:

In the life of the company, moments of conviviality are often considered as times apart, unrelated to the imperative of performance. This is to forget that the informal helps to cultivate the quality of relationships within the collective: by promoting solidarity, empathy and benevolence, it ultimately serves the motivation and effectiveness of the group.

Related topic: Cooperation
Search by artist
bottom of page

Paul Klee

Laternen Fest / Bauhaus

1922

Organiser l'informel

En 1920, le peintre allemand Paul Klee intègre l’équipe pédagogique du Bauhaus, école d’arts et métiers nouvellement fondée par l’architecte Walter Gropius. Au côté d’autres artistes de renommée tels que Wassily Kandinsky ou Josef Albers, Klee se met au service de la philosophie de cet institut très sérieux, qui a la haute ambition de casser les barrières entre l’art et l’artisanat pour poser les bases du design moderne.

Cette œuvre de 1922 illustre l’un des axes pédagogiques prioritaires – bien qu’inattendu –  du Bauhaus. Il s’agit d’une carte postale destinée à

promouvoir l’une des nombreuses fêtes organisées par l’école. Ce type d’événements, érigé en levier pédagogique fondamental, permettait à tous les acteurs de la vie du Bauhaus – professeurs, artistes, artisans, élèves – de se réunir dans un climat convivial et authentique, faisant la part belle à la dimension humaine du collectif. Parce que Gropius, Klee et leurs confrères avaient compris que toute relation professionnelle étant avant tout une relation humaine, ces temps informels – avec le plaisir et les échanges qu’ils généraient – conditionnaient la qualité du travail collectif.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Dans la vie de l’entreprise, les moments de convivialité sont souvent considérés comme des temps à part, étrangers à l’impératif de performance. C’est oublier que l’informel permet de cultiver la qualité des relations au sein du collectif: en favorisant la solidarité, l’empathie et la bienveillance, il sert à terme la motivation et l’efficacité du groupe.