top of page

Francisco Goya

Self-Portrait with Dr. Arriega

1819

Appreciate the efforts made

In 1819, the Spanish painter Francisco Goya, then aged 73, fell seriously ill. Fever, delirium, partial paralysis: although the diagnosis is not known to us precisely, the symptoms are violent enough for the old man, considered the greatest Spanish master of his century,  believes his time has come. Yet he will recover from  this test and  will live another eight years.

This unexpected cure, Goya should, according to him, to his doctor, Doctor Eugenio  Arrieta, come to administer care and remedies. To thank him, the painter could have painted his portrait: the prestige

enjoyed by Goya would have made this work a mark of recognition of very high value. Instead, he chose to stage himself, bedridden and delirious, supported by the doctor who valiantly intervenes between the patient and the nightmarish visions that haunt him,  in the  background darkness. And to remove any ambiguity about the identity of his benefactor, the artist wrote in full, at the bottom of the painting: "Gracious Goya, to his friend Arrieta  : for the accuracy and application with which he saved his life in his intense and dangerous illness (...)" A way of recognizing, in addition to the doctor's talent, his total involvement with his patient.

What we can take away:

To thank or congratulate someone, we naturally tend to see a result, speaking of quality, efficiency or meeting deadlines. But what we should emphasize more is the effort to get there. Because to openly take note  of the energy invested by others in a task is to recognize much more than their competence: both their merit and  his motivation.

Related topic: Cooperation
Related topic: Communication
Search by artist
bottom of page

Francisco Goya

Autoportrait avec le Dr Arriega

1819

Valoriser les efforts fournis

En 1819, le peintre espagnol Francisco Goya, alors âgé de 73 ans, tombe gravement malade. Fièvres, délires, paralysie partielle: bien que le diagnostique ne nous soit pas connu précisément, les symptômes sont assez violents pour que le vieil homme, considéré comme le plus grand maître espagnol de son siècle, croit son heure venue. Pourtant il se remettra de cette épreuve et vivra encore huit ans.

Cette guérison inespérée, Goya la devrait selon lui à son médecin, le Docteur Eugenio Arrieta, venu lui administrer soins et remèdes. Pour le remercier, le peintre aurait pu réaliser son portrait: le prestige dont

jouissait Goya aurait fait de cette œuvre une marque de reconnaissance de très haute valeur. Au lieu de ça, il a choisi de se mettre en scène, alité et délirant, soutenu par le médecin qui s'interpose vaillamment entre le malade et les visions cauchemardesques qui le hantent, dans les ténèbres de l'arrière-plan. Et pour lever toute ambiguïté sur l'identité de son bienfaiteur, l'artiste a écrit en toute lettres, en bas du tableau: "Goya reconnaissant, à son ami Arrieta : pour la justesse et l'application avec lesquelles il lui a sauvé la vie dans son intense et dangereuse maladie (...)" Une manière de reconnaître, outre le talent du médecin, son implication totale auprès de son patient.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Pour remercier ou féliciter quelqu'un, nous avons naturellement tendance à constater un résultat, en parlant qualité, efficacité ou respect des délais. Mais ce sur quoi nous devrions insister d'avantage, c'est sur les efforts déployés pour en arriver là. Parce que prendre acte ouvertement de l'énergie investie par autrui dans une tâche, c'est reconnaître bien plus que sa compétence: à la fois son mérite et sa motivation.