top of page

Pierre Bonnard

Women in the Garden

1891

Open up to foreign cultures

I n 1891, Pierre Bonnard was a member of a group of young artists who called themselves the "Nabis", a term which in Hebrew means "  prophets  ". Refusing the quest for realism and academic teachings, the movement instead refers to spiritual, philosophical or esoteric concepts, in order to restore painting to its  sacred  ".

To shake up Western aesthetics, the Nabis turn to images from elsewhere. Japan, which has just opened up to international trade after two centuries of isolation

Kikugawa Eizan

(1787-1867)

ment, is then for French artists an original source of inspiration, in particular thanks to a wide distribution of prints. These Women in the Garden offer a fine example of this "  japonism  ". Firstly because they constitute a set of four canvases in a vertical format (1.60 m by 50 cm) designed like the panels of a Japanese screen. Secondly, because its aesthetics are Japanese-inspired: pure and precise lines, flat colors without seeking modelling, asymmetrical composition, absence of depth effect… Parisian elegance, at Bonnard, is combined with Japanese.

What we can take away:

Innovation, which generally proceeds from a reaction to established practices, often draws its strength not from the negation of any tradition, but from the recourse to another tradition. Observing foreign cultures allows us to change our view of our own: it is a question of drawing inspiration from them, without imitating them.

Related theme: Creativity
Search by artist
bottom of page

Pierre Bonnard

Femmes au Jardin

1891

S'ouvrir à des cultures étrangères

En 1891, Pierre Bonnard est membre d’un groupe de jeunes artistes qui se font appeler les "Nabis", terme qui signifie en hébreu « prophètes ». Refu-sant la quête de réalisme et les enseignements académiques, le mouvement se réfère plutôt à des concepts spirituels, philosophiques ou éso-tériques, afin de rendre à la peinture sa dimen-sion « sacrée ».

Pour bousculer l’esthétique occidentale, les Nabis se tournent vers des images venues d’ailleurs. Le Japon, qui vient de s’ouvrir au com-merce international après deux siècles d’isole-

Kikugawa Eizan

(1787-1867)

ment, est alors pour les artistes français une source d’inspiration originale, notamment grâce à une large diffusion d’estampes. Ces Femmes au Jardin offrent un bel exemple de ce « japonisme ». D’abord parce qu’elles constituent un ensemble de quatre toiles de format vertical (1,60 m sur 50 cm) conçues comme les panneaux d’un paravent japonais. Ensuite parce que son esthétique est d’inspiration nipponne: lignes pures et précises, à-plats de couleurs sans recherche de modelé, composition asymétrique, absence d’effet de profondeur… L’élégance parisienne, chez Bonnard, se conjugue au japonais.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

L’innovation, qui procède en général d’une réaction à des pratiques établies, puise souvent sa force non dans la négation de toute tradition, mais dans le recours à une autre tradition. Observer des cultures étrangères permet de modifier notre regard sur la nôtre: il s’agit de s’en inspirer, sans les imiter.