top of page

Francis Bacon

Study for Portrait on Floding Bed

1963

Act before thinking

Self-taught who came late to painting, the Irishman Francis Bacon became famous in the 1940s for his spectacular works in which bodies seem abused to the point of dehumanization, as if distorted under the effect of an indomitable energy. These striking images made him one of the main representatives of the London School, a movement claiming the practice of figurative painting at a time when modernity seemed to have to pass through abstraction.

If his works inevitably suggest violence and uneasiness, it is originally their creative process that exploited – in an assumed and even claimed way – the notion of accident. Indeed to start a canvas, instead of drawing or tracing a sketch, he projected paint on the blank surface to generate a spot with a random outline. It was from this hazardous form that his imagination could begin to work, bringing out of the chaos images whose spontaneous character still constitutes the power of his art today.

What we can take away:

Any creative process comes up against the  blank page syndrome  ". By wanting to intellectually conceive very successful ideas, we prevent ourselves from concretizing them. Acting instinctively – even riskily – allows us to generate a working basis that we can then perfect.

Related theme: Creativity
Related topic: Method
Search by artist
bottom of page

Francis Bacon

Study for Portrait on Floding Bed

1963

Agir avant de réfléchir

Autodidacte venu tardivement à la peinture, l’Irlandais Francis Bacon est devenu célèbre dès les années 1940 pour ses œuvres spectaculaires où des corps semblent malmenés jusqu’à la déshumanisation, comme distordus sous l’effet d’une énergie indomptable. Ces images saisissantes ont fait de lui l’un des principaux représentants de l’Ecole de Londres, mouvement revendiquant la pratique de la peinture figurative à une époque où la modernité semblait devoir passer par l’abstraction.

Si ses œuvres suggèrent inévitablement la violence et le malaise, c’est à l’origine leur processus de création qui a exploité – de manière assumée et même revendiquée – la notion d’accident. En effet pour commencer une toile, au lieu de dessiner ou de tracer une esquisse, il projetait de la peinture sur la surface vierge pour générer une tâche au contour aléatoire. C’est à partir de cette forme hasardeuse que son imagination pouvait commencer à travailler, en faisant surgir du chaos des images dont le caractère spontané fait aujourd’hui encore la puissance de son art.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Tout processus créatif se heurte au « syndrome de la page blanche ». En voulant concevoir intellectuellement des idées très abouties, nous nous empêchons de les concrétiser. Agir de manière instinctive – voire hasardeuse – permet de générer une base de travail que nous pourrons ensuite parfaire.