top of page

Edgar Degas

the racetrack

Between 1876 and 1887

Make sense of the insignificant

In the middle of the 19th century, the art world witnessed the emergence of a new technology which promised to radically upset the whole of visual culture: photography. Like other members of the Impressionist group, Edgar Degas was passionate about this mode of producing images in which he saw an embodiment of progress.

 

Quickly, he understands the potential of photography as much as its limits. He notes in particular that the photographer, unlike the painter, does not arrange his figures to his liking.

in the frame since it can only capture a fragment of the scene unfolding in front of it. This results in images with sometimes haphazard composition, with characters cut off by the frame or concealing each other. This inherent disadvantage of photography, Degas perceives it as a vector of modernity, able to translate the tumult and the agitation of his time. Thus, fascinated like his impressionist friends by the fleeting and ephemeral nature of our perceptions, he creates paintings whose figures are delivered to the same fate as the truncated subjects of the first photographs.

What we can take away:

Whether we like it or not, our daily life is full of insignificant and sometimes upsetting events, which we welcome with resignation as necessary evils. However, if we try to understand the ins and outs, they can become unexpected sources of inspiration.

Related theme: Creativity
Related topic: Method
Search by artist
bottom of page

Edgar Degas

le Champ de Course

Entre 1876 et 1887

Donner du sens à l'insignifiant

Au milieu du XIXème siècle, le monde de l’art assiste à l’émergence d’une technologie nouvelle qui promet de bouleverser radicalement l’ensemble de la culture visuelle: la photographie. Comme d’autres membres du groupe impressionniste, Edgar Degas se passionne pour ce mode de production d’images dans lequel il voit une incarnation du progrès.

 

Rapidement, il comprend le potentiel de la photographie autant que ses limites. Il constate notamment que le photographe, contrairement au peintre, ne dispose pas ses figures à sa convenance

dans le cadre puisqu’il ne peut que capturer un fragment de la scène qui se déroule devant lui. Il en résulte des images à la composition parfois hasardeuse, avec des personnages coupés par le cadre ou se dissimulant les uns les autres. Cet inconvénient inhérent à la photographie, Degas le perçoit comme un vecteur de modernité, propre à traduire le tumulte et l’agitation de son époque. Ainsi, fasciné comme ses amis impressionnistes par le caractère fugace et éphémère de nos perceptions, il crée des tableaux dont les figures sont livrées au même sort que les sujets tronqués des premières photographies.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Qu’on le veuille ou non, notre quotidien est riche d’événements insignifiants et parfois contrariants, que nous accueillons avec résignation comme des maux nécessaires. Pourtant, si on cherche à en comprendre les tenants et les aboutissants, ils peuvent devenir des sources d’inspiration inespérées.