top of page

Frida Kahlo

the broken column

1944

Using the power of analogy

In 1944, the Mexican painter Frida Kahlo had already been suffering from shooting pains for 20 years. As a teenager, she was the victim of a terrible tram accident: her body was pierced by an iron bar, leaving her spine irreparably damaged. Since then, she has undergone dozens of surgeries and spent months bedridden, her torso encased in plaster or leather corsets, with no hope of recovery. So much so that suffering has become, in his own words, "a condition of his existence".

In The Broken Column , she takes up an impossible challenge: to give an account of this permanent torture. But how to say the pain in image? How to make the nature of his illness understood at first glance? Frida Kahlo responds with analogy: by replacing her spine with an antique column in ruins, she speaks both of her fragility and the threat of fatal degradation. The column of a monument is intended to support it: if it collapses, the whole building collapses. This is exactly what Frida Kahlo experiences on a daily basis: the suffering... and the fear that her back will give way definitively.

What we can take away:

It is difficult to communicate on complex subjects. For lack of time or words to say things simply, we often opt for technical and convoluted speeches, without really worrying about their impact on our interlocutors. Using analogies gives concreteness to our ideas and ensures their immediate understanding.

Related topic: Communication
Search by artist
bottom of page

Frida Kahlo

la Colonne brisée

1944

Recourir à la force de l'analogie

En 1944, la peintre mexicaine Frida Kahlo souffre depuis 20 ans déjà de douleurs lancinantes. Adolescente, elle a été victime d’un terrible accident de tramway: son corps a été transpercé par une barre de fer, laissant sa colonne vertébrale irrémédiablement endommagée. Depuis, elle a subi des dizaines d’interventions chirurgicales et passé des mois alitée, le torse enserré dans des corsets en plâtre ou en cuir, sans espoir de rétablissement. A tel point que la souffrance est devenue, selon ses propres termes, "une condition à son existence".

Dans la Colonne brisée, elle relève un défi impossible : rendre compte de ce supplice permanent. Mais comment dire la douleur en image? Comment faire comprendre au premier coup d’œil la nature de son mal? Frida Kahlo répond par l’analogie: en substituant à sa colonne vertébrale une colonne antique en ruine, elle dit à la fois sa fragilité et la menace d’une dégradation fatale. La colonne d’un monument a pour vocation de le soutenir: si elle s’effondre, c’est tout l’édifice qui s’écroule. C’est exactement ce que vit Frida Kahlo au quotidien: la souffrance… et la peur que son dos ne cède définitivement.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Il est difficile de communiquer sur des sujets complexes. Faute de temps ou de mots pour dire les choses simplement, nous optons souvent pour des discours techniques et alambiqués, sans se soucier réellement de leur impact sur nos interlocuteurs. Recourir à des analogies permet de donner de la concrétude à nos idées, et de s’assurer de leur compréhension immédiate.