top of page

Tamara de Lempicka

girl in green

1930

Mix our successive influences

Polish raised in Russia and exiled in France during the October Revolution, Tamara de Lempicka became, from Paris to New York, one of the most courted artists of the 1920s and 1930s. A star painter affiliated with the Art Deco movement then in vogue in high society, she embodied – both through her work and her way of life – the modern, free and determined woman, witness to a society in full evolution.

This status as an icon of the Roaring Twenties is due in particular to her painting, which is both very modern and extremely sensual. Her ambition, she said, was

to produce "works with a style so singular that they would be distinguished among hundreds of others." And it is clear that she succeeded. How ? By constantly associating the different sources of inspiration they have found on their journey. From the Russian icons of her childhood, she kept the oval faces and tight frames. The Italian Renaissance Madonnas she admired in the Louvre inspired  the elegant postures and delicate draperies of his models. And from her training in the studio of the cubist painter André Lhote she retained the transcription of volumes into assemblies of geometric shapes.

What we can take away:

As individuals, our singularity resides in the sum of our experiences and successive encounters. Rather than moving from one source of inspiration to another along our journey, we can add them, merge them, welcome the new ones without forgetting the old ones.  It is this crossbreeding that makes the richness of our vision. 

Related theme: Creativity
Search by artist
bottom of page

Tamara de Lempicka

Jeune fille en vert

1930

Mixer nos influences successives

Polonaise élevée en Russie et exilée en France à la Révolution d’Octobre, Tamara de Lempicka est devenue, de Paris à New York, l’une des artistes les plus courtisées des années 1920-1930. Peintre vedette affiliée au mouvement Art Déco alors en vogue dans la bonne société, elle a incarné – tant par son travail que par son mode de vie – la femme moderne, libre et volontaire, témoin d’une société en pleine évolution.

Ce statut d’icone des Années Folles, elle le doit notamment à sa peinture à la fois très moderne et extrêmement sensuelle. Son ambition, disait-elle, était

de produire "des œuvres au style si singulier qu’on les distinguerait parmi des centaines d’autres." Et force est de constater qu’elle y est parvenue. Comment ? En associant sans cesse les différentes sources d'inspiration qu'elles a trouvées sur son parcours. Des icones russes de son enfance elle a gardé les visages ovales et les cadrages serrés. Les madones italiennes de la Renaissance qu'elle a admirées au Louvre ont inspiré les postures élégantes et les drapés délicats de ses modèles. Et de sa formation dans l'atelier du peintre cubiste André Lhote elle a retenu la transcription des volumes en assemblages de formes géométriques.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

En tant qu'individus, notre singularité réside dans la somme de nos expériences et rencontres successives. Plutôt que de passer d'une source d'inspiration à une autre au fil de notre parcours, nous pouvons les additionner, les fusionner, accueillir les nouvelles sans oublier les anciennes. C'est ce métissage qui fait la richesse de notre vision.