top of page

Antoine Watteau

The sign of Gersaint

1720

Match content and form

This large-format canvas - more than 3 m wide by 1.63 m high - is the latest masterpiece  by Frenchman Antoine Watteau, then a member of the Royal Academy of Painting and Sculpture. We see the interior of an art dealer's shop, with customers chatting among the paintings for sale. And if the work  offers a rare testimony to urban life in the  Paris of the 18th century - a time when the reality of daily life was rarely considered worthy of being represented in painting - it is also remarkable  for the conditions and the purpose of its creation.  

 

In 1720, Watteau wanted to help his friend

Parisian art dealer Edmé-François Gersaint, whose shop has just moved following a devastating fire.  But instead of just giving her  a painting intended for sale, he proposes to create a work  which would serve as a billboard. In a few days, he paints  this canvas depicting the interior of Gersaint's shop .  The sign, displayed for a fortnight in front of the store,  on the Pont Notre Dame,  is admired by passers-by and caused a sensation among painting enthusiasts. Mission accomplished, therefore, for Watteau who understood that there is nothing more effective in promoting an art gallery... than a work of art.

What we can take away:

A message, it seems, is defined by two distinct dimensions: substance and form. And our first instinct is usually to  work on the content, then think about the form. But for  promote a project or share an idea,  the best solution is to think of content and form together, as one and the same characteristic.  "Form, said Victor Hugo, is the bottom that rises to the surface."

Related topic: Communication
Search by artist
bottom of page

Antoine Watteau

L'Enseigne de Gersaint

1720

Faire coïncider le fond et la forme

Cette toile de grand format - plus de 3 m de large sur 1,63 m de haut - est le dernier chef d'œuvre du Français Antoine Watteau, alors membre de l'Académie Royale de Peinture et de Sculpture. On y voit l'intérieur de la boutique d'un marchand d'art, avec des clients devisant parmi les tableaux en vente. Et si l'œuvre offre un témoignage rare de la vie urbaine dans le Paris du XVIIIème siècle - époque où la réalité du quotidien était rarement jugé digne d'être représentée en peinture -, elle est aussi remarquable pour les conditions et la finalité de sa création. 

 

En 1720, Watteau souhaite venir en aide à son ami

marchant d'art parisien Edmé-François Gersaint, dont la boutique vient de déménager suite à un incendie dévastateur. Mais au lieu de lui offrir simplement un tableau destiné à la vente, il propose de réaliser une œuvre qui servirait de panneau publicitaire. En quelques jours, il peint donc cette toile figurant l'intérieur de la boutique de Gersaint. L'enseigne, exposée une quinzaine de jours devant le magasin, sur le Pont Notre-Dame, est admirée par les passants et fait sensation dans le milieu des amateurs de peinture. Mission accomplie, donc, pour Watteau qui a compris qu'il n'y a rien de plus efficace pour promouvoir une galerie d'art... qu'une œuvre d'art.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Un message, semble-t-il, se définit par deux dimensions distinctes: le fond et la forme. Et notre instinct premier est en général de travailler le fond, puis de réfléchir à la forme. Mais pour promouvoir un projet ou partager une idée, la meilleure solution est de penser fond et forme conjointement, comme une seule et même caractéristique. "La forme, disait Victor Hugo, c'est le fond qui remonte à la surface."