top of page

Salvador Dali

Raphael's Madonna at Maximum Speed

1954

Explore other universes

Famous for his megalomaniac extravagances as much as for his hallucinatory works, emblematic of the surrealist current of which he was one of the representatives, the Spaniard Salvador Dali nourished a boundless passion for the universe of science. An avid reader of the most difficult theories, from the science of black holes to quantum physics, he admired Albert Einstein, revered Stephen  Hawking, and had become friends with several winners of the Nobel Prize or the Fields Medal. To the point that he claimed to evolve with the same ease in the world of art and in that of science.

Far from being only a center of interest foreign to his work as an artist, the sciences  inspired much of his work. Indeed many of his works refer, more or less explicitly, to mathematical or scientific discoveries.  such as catastrophe theory or the molecular structure of DNA. Ideas that he did not hesitate to associate with familiar artistic imagery, often with religious connotations. Here, for example, he "disintegrates" a Madonna by Raphael by jointly recalling the atomic nature of matter and the spiritual dimension of existence.

What we can take away:

Innovation comes from the mixing of ideas and the meeting of knowledge - and know-how - of different natures. Being successful in a given discipline therefore requires not only a certain expertise in this field, but also an ability to be curious about other universes, to broaden our outlook and stimulate our creativity. Diversifying our centers of interest means exploring the world in all its richness.

Related theme: Creativity
Search by artist
bottom of page

Salvador Dalí

La Madonne de Raphaël à Vitesse maximale

1954

Explorer d'autres univers

Célèbre pour ses extravagances mégalomaniaques autant que pour ses œuvres hallucinatoires, emblématiques du courant surréaliste dont il fut l'un des représentants, l'Espagnol Salvador Dali nourrissait une passion sans bornes pour l'univers des sciences. Lecteur assidu des théories les plus ardues, de la science des trous noirs à la physique quantique, il admirait Albert Einstein, vénérait Stephen Hawking, et s'était lié d'amitié avec plusieurs lauréats du Prix Nobel ou de la Médaille Fields. Au point qu'il prétendait évoluer avec la même aisance dans le monde de l'art et dans celui de la science.

Loin de n'être qu'un centre d'intérêt étranger à son travail d'artiste, les sciences ont inspiré une grande partie de son travail. En effet beaucoup de ses œuvres font référence, plus ou moins explicitement, à des découvertes mathématiques ou scientifiques telles que la théorie des catastrophes ou la structure moléculaire de l'ADN. Des idées qu'il n'hésitait pas à associer à une imagerie artistique familière, souvent à connotation religieuse. Ici par exemple, il "désintègre" une Madonne de Raphaël en rappelant conjointement la nature atomique de la matière et la dimension spirituelle de l'existence.

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

L'innovation vient du brassage des idées et de la rencontre de savoirs - et de savoir-faire - de natures différentes. Etre performant dans une discipline donnée requiert donc non seulement une certaine expertise dans ce domaine, mais aussi une capacité à être curieux d'autres univers, pour élargir notre regard et stimuler notre créativité. Diversifier nos centres d'intérêt, c'est explorer le monde dans toute sa richesse.