top of page

Charles-Francois Daubigny

Gloton

1857

Change point of view

Like his comrades at the so-called Barbizon School – named after the village near Fontainebleau where the colony of painters had taken up residence in the middle of the 19th century – Charles-François Daubigny tirelessly explored the possibilities offered by outdoor painting, particularly in terms of play of light.

 

Among the themes that were dear to him: the river landscapes, which evoked the particular atmosphere and vegetation of the surroundings of the rivers between the Seine and the Oise. But while artists have always

observed the rivers naturally from their banks, Daubigny sought an original point of view. To describe the river and its surroundings, he wanted to place his easel no longer on dry land, but at the very heart of his subject: on the water. He therefore bought a boat which he transformed into a floating workshop. It is on this boat called "  the directory  » that he painted his most beautiful landscapes, whose vanishing point merges with that of the river and which literally plunges us, the spectators, into an authentic and soothing river atmosphere.

 

What we can take away:

It is often possible, by showing cleverness and imagination, to take an original look at a situation that is nevertheless perfectly familiar. By finding a new point of view from which to observe the ordinary, we sometimes manage to re-enchant the everyday and to glimpse new opportunities.

Related theme: Creativity
Search by artist
bottom of page

Charles-François Daubigny

Gloton

1857

Changer de point de vue

Comme ses camarades de l’Ecole dite de Barbizon – du nom du village proche de Fontainebleau où la colonie de peintres avait élu domicile au milieu du XIXème siècle – Charles-François Daubigny explorait inlassablement les possibilités offertes par la peinture de plein air, notamment en termes de jeux de lumière.

 

Parmi les thèmes qui lui étaient chers: les paysages fluviaux, qui évoquaient l’ambiance et la végétation particulières des abords des cours d’eau entre la Seine et l’Oise. Mais alors que les artistes, depuis toujours,

observaient les rivières naturellement depuis leur rive, Daubigny a cherché un point de vue original. Pour décrire le fleuve et ses environs, il a souhaité poser son chevalet non plus sur la terre ferme, mais au cœur même de son sujet: sur l’eau. Il a donc acheté une barque qu’il a transformée en atelier flottant. C’est sur cette embarcation baptisée « le Bottin » qu’il a peint ses plus beaux paysages, dont le point de fuite se confond avec celui de la rivière et qui nous plongent littéralement, nous autres spectateurs, dans une atmosphère fluviale authentique et apaisante.

 

Ce qu'on peut en retenir:

Il est souvent possible, en faisant preuve d’astuce et d'imagination, de porter un regard original sur une situation pourtant parfaitement familière. En trouvant un nouveau point de vue duquel observer l’ordinaire, on arrive parfois à réenchanter le quotidien et à entrevoir de nouvelles opportunités.